Jackie's 4get Me Nots

No vase can overflow if you never fill it up.


Season Greeting Guys! I hope you’re having a beautiful and blissful weekend before Christmas! I’ve added one more book to my ‘real’ shelf this week besides the three I got from my TBTBSanta.

Uprooted came recommended by Rachel, the girl staff at Chapters because The Bear and the Nightingale, was sold out. Wah wah wah. Perhaps another time then, but I haven’t heard anything about Uprooted, so I thought why not.

Uprooted

by Naomi Novik
“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travellers passing through. They talk as though we were making a human sacrifice, and he was a real dragon. Of course, that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”
Agnieszka (pronounced ag-NYESH-Kah) loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as awful as falling to the Wood.

The next choice is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.
I also added more virtual reality kindle books, except I am having trouble with wifi connectivity which doesn’t allow me to upload them to my device. I have no idea why.
I’m thinking I may be running out of space.
How many books can a kindle hold anyway?
Because I have a ton of ’em! 742 to be exact! I don’t think that is counting the ones in my archives!

Anyway, I’ve cancelled Amazon Unlimited. That’s one less debt and more savings for me.

I downloaded two ARC’s I received from Six Queens, Royal Library and I can’t access them 😦 

Sarah K. L. Wilson’s Dragon School: First Flight
cover_md

Join Dragon School. Learn to Fly.

Sixteen-year-old Amel arrived at Dragon School just like everyone else – with a dream to ride dragons and join the Dominion Dragon Riders.

But Amel has a crippled leg, and Dragon School training is gruelling. Before she can even become an initiate, she must complete her First Flight on a dragon. Can Amel survive First Flight and become a Dragon School initiate or will her dreams dash on the rocks below?

Fans of Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Rachel E. Carter’s First Year will love Dragon School.

The Edinburgh Seer

cover_md (1)
OUTLANDER meets THE INFERNAL DEVICES in this new fantasy by USA Today bestselling author Alisha Klapheke!
Aini MacGregor has a deadly secret.
In an alternate, modern-day Scotland, she must hide her sixth sense or face the firing squad. Because of the king’s mysterious fear of sixth-sensers, his head of security hunts people like her. And the man’s clan has a choke-hold on her hometown of Edinburgh.

When Aini’s father is abducted from their altered sweets lab, she must risk death and use her ability to follow a trail of artifacts to save him.

Despite the rebels trying to lure her into their fight, the ghostly encounters, and the constant fear that the kingsmen will catch up, Aini believes she and her father’s apprentice will win out. After all, the handsome Scot happens to be a genius with a penchant for crafting sweets that defy gravity, enhance vision, and turn enemies into hopeless admirers.

Until she learns who the apprentice really is.

His secret is far more frightening than hers, and its unravelling will flip both their worlds upside down.

Alright everybody, stay safe and be beautiful and I wish you all a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year in 2018!

3 thoughts on “‘Twas The STS before Christmas

  1. So many lovely books! Enjoy! Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is such a huge haul. I can see you are addicted to Kindle 😀 I too have so many books on my Kindle that I am yet to read.
    I hope you enjoy your new reads.
    My STS: http://flippingthruthepages.com/2017/12/stacking-shelves-12/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Bear and the Nightingale was sold out? Go figure. Everyone must be grabbing the first book, because the sequel just came out 🙂 haven’t read Uprooted, but I hope you enjoy!
    Have a happy Christmas!!

    Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

deep breath, close your eyes

cheney meaghan's blog

My World of Books

Find yourself in a great book!

Adventures of a Bibliophile

nevertheless, she persisted

gingermomreads.wordpress.com/

On a Quest to tame the Kindle Beast . . .

The Audiobookworm

An Audiobook Review & Promotion Blog

bookswithbain

to the stars who listen and the dreams that are answered

Howlin Books

A Bookish Blog

Chrissi Reads

'Reading one book is like eating one crisp.' -Diane Duane

The Book Disciple

Leading you to your next great romance book!

Book Snacks

For Book-Hungry Readers

The Perpetual Page-Turner

No vase can overflow if you never fill it up.

Taking on a World of Words

Homepage for fledgling writer Sam A. Stevens

Fibrofied

Luter Traiecto Nunquam Titillandus

Perspective of a Writer

A Book & Kdrama Blog

A Booknerd Travels

books, travel, photography, lifestyle

%d bloggers like this: